The best dictation software in 2026

Start with the free dictation built into your device. It's good enough for most people. Pay for an app if you dictate for hours, want the same dictation in every program, or want filler words and rambling cleaned up automatically. Here's what fits which need.

How this guide was made: it's based on each maker's published features, prices and privacy information, last checked on October 23, 2026. We haven't tested these apps hands-on yet, and we'll say so on any page where we have. Prices change often, so check the maker's site before you buy. How we compare

Picks by need

If you want… Look at Why
Free, nothing to install The dictation built into your device Every Mac, Windows PC, iPhone and Android phone has it. How to turn it on
The same dictation in every app, on every device Wispr Flow, Aqua Voice, Typeless They run on Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android, and clean up what you say
Privacy and offline use Superwhisper, Spokenly, MacWhisper Free plans that run speech recognition on your own device
The cheapest paid option Spokenly A $29 one-time plan for local models
Business privacy controls (HIPAA) Willow Voice, Wispr Flow Both offer a Business Associate Agreement for healthcare teams
Custom voice commands on Windows Dragon Professional Long-standing, Windows only, expensive
Hands-free control of the whole computer Talon Voice, or the free Voice Control (Mac) and Voice Access (Windows) Built for accessibility and coding with RSI

Everything side by side

App Works on Free option Paid from Offline
Built-in dictation Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android, ChromeOS Free — Apple: many languages on device. Windows voice typing: no.
Wispr Flow Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android 2,000 words a week on desktop $12/mo billed yearly ($15 monthly) No, cloud only
Aqua Voice Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android 1,000 words in total $10/mo billed yearly ($12 monthly) Not stated
Typeless Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone, Android Limited words each week $12/mo billed yearly Not stated
Willow Voice Mac, Windows, iPhone Basic plan About $12–15/mo Optional offline mode
Superwhisper Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android Unlimited with on-device models $8.49/mo, $84.99/yr or $249.99 once Yes
Spokenly Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone Unlimited with on-device models $29 once (local) or $9.99/mo (cloud) Yes
MacWhisper Mac Free tier One-time Pro licence Yes
Monologue Mac, iPhone, iPad 1,000 words $12/mo billed yearly ($15 monthly) Transcribes on the Mac
Dragon Professional Windows — About $699 once, from retailers Not stated
Talon Voice Mac, Windows, Linux Free, funded by donations — Yes

How to choose

  1. Try the free built-in dictation first. If it's accurate enough and you only dictate now and then, you're done.
  2. Decide whether you need every app. Built-in dictation already works in most apps, but paid apps add automatic cleanup, a learning dictionary and the same experience across all your devices.
  3. Decide where your audio should go. Cloud apps (Wispr Flow, Aqua Voice, Willow) send audio to their servers. Local apps (Superwhisper, Spokenly and MacWhisper on their free plans) keep it on your device.
  4. Use the free tier for a week before paying. Every paid app above has a free plan or trial.

What's changed recently

  • Dragon Anywhere, Nuance's mobile app, stopped being sold on July 1, 2026, according to its App Store listing. There has been no Dragon for Mac since 2018. See Dragon alternatives.
  • Windows Speech Recognition has been replaced by Voice Access on Windows 11.

Guides by platform and need

Sources

Prices and features are from each maker's own site, linked in the table, checked October 23, 2026. Dragon pricing is from retailer listings because Nuance doesn't publish a price. The Dragon Anywhere end of sale is from its App Store listing.